Running a long job on Linux

So I needed to run a particularly long running query on a Linux server however knowing my connection I knew that I was going to get kicked out sooner or later, further more I didn’t want to run this job in nohup for many reasons, luckily the machine had screen installed on it.

Screen is a package that allows you to maintain whatever you are running (your screen) running even if you disconnect your session, it remains running in a detached mode, you can later on reattach your screen and you’ll see what was happening as if you were connected all along.

I’d have written a tutorial on how to use it however I’ve located a perfect tutorial which is much better than anything i can write.

http://www.rackaid.com/resources/linux-screen-tutorial-and-how-to/

Leave a Reply

